How I win at weight loss/maintenance


On the weeks I have a good weigh-in there are certain things I can guarantee happened in the previous week: I tracked (at least 80% of what I ate), I made soup, and I ate out very rarely. Other things that help me be successful are having a little fun – going to a movie or window shopping, something that helps me to reduce stress. I will also have been active during the week. Now this doesn’t mean I went to the gym every day – just easy things like taking the stairs, getting off the bus/train one stop early to get in a couple extra blocks of walking, or walking to the grocery store for quick trips. I enjoy making soup almost as much as I enjoy making bread. I think it’s the ease and the smell that comes with it. I’m trying out a new recipe today which many WW members swear by. Luckily I got a snow morning so I can have a nice big bowl before I head to school.

Garden Vegetable Soup


Spray a large saucepan with nonstick cooking spray, heat. Saute 1/2c sliced carrots, 1/4c diced onions, and 2 minced garlic cloves over low heat until softened, about 5 minutes. Add 3c fat-free broth, 1c diced green cabbage, 1c chopped spinach, 1T tomato paste, 1/2t dried basil, 1/4t dried oregano and 1/4t salt– bring to a boil. Reduce heat; simmer covered for 15 minutes. Stir in 1c diced zucchini and cook 3-4 more minutes. Serve hot. Serves 6. Points Plus: 0

2 Comments on “How I win at weight loss/maintenance”

  1. bna says:

    This is really helpful. I’m trying to lose my last 20 pounds – do you have any tips? Are weekly weigh-ins helpful? I don’t want to focus on just the number, you know…?

    • Yes a couple basic tips: drink more water less caffeine-containing drinks, sneak in exercise (I’m thinking more stairs or getting off the T/bus one stop earlier), more fruits and veggies (either on their own or mixed in with your regular snacks/meals). A broth-based soup loaded with vegetables is a great way to do this because it will fill you up and get 1-2 vegetable servings out of the way. Other ideas would be to write down everything you eat – this is a mind trick, by knowing you have to write down what you are eating you will make better choices; and try to stick to a regular meal schedule- 3 meals plus 1-2 snacks if necessary, with snacks occurring only when there is a 4+hr break between meals.
      Try to incorporate 1-2 of these changes every 2 weeks. That will make the transition easier and more natural –> higher success.
      Hope those help!!


Leave a Reply

