Snowy afternoon


I might as well be snowed in – I am able to get out but it is so disgusting out that I have hunkered down for the afternoon/evening. I decided the snow storm warranted a warm bowl of chili and a piece of cornbread.

The chili recipe is relatively new to my arsenal but it has taken hold, I hope you will give it a try and enjoy it as much as we do. The cornbread is actually a first for me. Normally I buy a Jiffy mix and prepare that, but on my mission to eat almost entirely homemade I thought I would give this a try.

Turkey Chili


In a large skillet with 2t vegetable oil, brown 2lb ground turkey breast and 1 medium yellow onion (diced). Transfer the meat (without any fat) to a slow cooker. Add 28oz crushed tomatoes, 15oz kidney beans, 15oz black beans, 1 medium jalapeño (diced), 1 packet chili seasoning (low-sodium), 2 diced plum tomatoes, 1c water; stir to combine. Before serving add the zest and juice of one lime and 1/2c chopped cilantro. Put the top on the slow cooker and cook on high for at least 90 minutes. You could also brown the meat the night before serving and combine all ingredients in the slow cooker the next morning- in this case I recommend cooking on low for 5 hours. My slow cooker has a wonderful timer and the temperature switches to warm when the time expires. This recipe yields 16 servings and freezes very well. Points Plus: 3 (I’ve topped it with 1T reduced fat shredded cheese.)

Cornbread


In a medium bowl combine 1/2c + 2T whole wheat flour, 1/4c + 2T corn meal, 1/4t salt, 2T sugar and 1t baking powder. Make a well in the center of the bowl.  Add 1/2c skim milk, 1 egg white and 2T vegetable oil. Mix until just combined. I baked these in mini muffin pans, a wonderful tip for guaranteed equal portion sizes. Bake them at 400 degrees for 14 minutes, rotating half-way through cooking. Let them cool for 2-3 minutes and serve warm. Two mini muffins per serving, serves 9. Points Plus: 2


2 Comments on “Snowy afternoon”

  1. steve pazar says:

    Cornbread is an underutilized food group in my book. I do use Jiffy from time to time. Try using an 8 inch cast iron skillet (butter first) and cook at 400 for about 20 minutes. The cast iron ensures good heat distribution to cook the center of the “pie”.


Leave a Reply

