cookies from the heart


These cookies are a big part of my evening. I will be giving these as a gift to someone very dear to me.

My mentor (not sure she knows that is what I consider her) was presented with a wonderful opportunity which involves leaving our Simmons Community. I enlisted some help to find her favorite cookies because some how in our time together I had no idea she was such a big cookie fan. I knew of her love for Lay’s potato chips and her custom mix of Jelly Belly’s but those aren’t as personal. Growing up food was how we communicated emotions and I still come back to that on occasion. I don’t know how to say thank you for all she’s done or the extent to which I will miss knowing she is always near by… I do know how to make something with love that says all those things and more.

Snickerdoodles

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Sift together 2 3/4c flour (halt white, half wheat), 2t baking powder and 1/2t salt. Put 1/2c butter (unsalted, room temperature), 1/2c applesauce, and 1 1/2c sugar in a bowl; cream until pale and fluffy. Mix in 1 egg and 2 egg whites. Reduce speed to low and gradually add in flour mixture. In a small bowl mix together 1T sugar and 1t cinnamon. Shape the dough into 48 1″-balls; roll in cinnamon sugar. Space the cookies 2″ apart on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake cookies for 14 minutes rotating halfway through. Let cool on sheet for 2 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack. 1 cookie per serving. Points Plus: 2

Traditional Chocolate Chip Cookies

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Sift together 2 1/4c flour (half white, half wheat), 1/2t baking soda and 1t salt. Put 1/2c butter (unsalted, room temperature), 1/2c applesauce, 1c brown sugar and 1/2c granular sugar in a bowl and cream until pale and fluffy. Add in 1 egg, 2 egg whites and 2t vanilla extract. Add in flour mixture. Mix in 1 3/4c chocolate chips. Bake for 10 minutes, rotating halfway through cooking. Let cool on sheet for 2 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack. 1 cookie per serving. Points Plus: 2

2 Comments on “cookies from the heart”

  1. Courtney says:

    I love this! It is so true and I can’t wait to try your cookies tomorrow cause I am sure they are amazing!

  2. Elise Tofias Phillips says:

    I will tell you from the heart that these were the best cookies I have ever tasted for two reasons: 1- because they were delicious and, 2- because they were made with love. I love you dearly Courtney and I know we will stay in touch always. Keep baking, cooking, and keep your heart filled with spirit and love. I am touched and moved greatly by what you wrote. xoxo ETP


Leave a Reply

