friday again


Friday again. Very strange week. I enjoy not having to commute in snow storms, and having time to get ahead on reading and assignments but I have had enough snow days for the semester. I have waited years to take these classes and now Mother Nature is messing with my learning. As I look at the 10 day forecast and it’s THREE pending storms, I would just like to say… ENOUGH already. Please give me a break.

Last thing to do is adjust my weekend project/errand list and do some more reading. I am slowly hacking away at Omnivore’s Dilemma. It is an interesting book, but I find I can’t read more than 30 pages at a time- possibly because I’m reading at the end of my day when sleep is beckoning… I will get there – I must!

I am trying to put of going to the grocery store as long as possible so I have been digging deep in my freezer and cabinets to use forgotten items. Tonight’s dinner was some frozen Mexican vegetable soup with added corn, avocado and shrimp. Very nice dinner for a cold night. The soup is thick and filling and super tasty. Also, I freeze half of it in bags (label before filling and lay flat in the freezer once full- this makes defrosting MUCH easier) and it lasts about 3-4 months. I froze the vegetarian portion and then just added in extra protein before serving. I think this gives you more flexibility.

Mexican-Inspired Vegetable Soup (Adapted from WW)

Dice 2 small zucchini, 1 medium Spanish onion, 1 medium green pepper, 2 medium jalapeno. Place green beans,3 garlic cloves minced, zucchini, 14oz diced tomatoes, onion, green pepper, jalapeño, 1t oregano, 1/2t cumin and 2 1/2c vegetable broth (low sodium) into a large soup pot. Puree 1/4c roasted peppers with 1T chipotle peppers in adobo sauce in a blender or food processor; stir into soup with 1 can black beans– rinsed. Cover and bring to a boil over high heat; reduce heat to low, and simmer, partly covered, for about 15 minutes. Stir in 1c frozen corn kernels and 10 medium shrimp cut in half. Let cook 2-3 minutes longer, until shrimp is opaque and cooked through. Stir in 1/2c cilantro– chopped, 2T lime juice and 3/4t salt. Serve. Yields about 1 cup per serving.Points Plus: 3

I served this with 1/4 of a medium avocado, 1oz tortilla chips and 1T shredded cheese – Additional Points Plus value: 6

Leave a Reply

