dinner for one


The weekend has rolled around again which means an extra set of errands (groceries, hospital, bank, etc.) and projects (cleaning, cooking, baking, laundry) in addition to my ongoing school (reading, note review, papers, homework) and work (emails, database review, etc.) commitments. This weekend I’m making: granola, meatloaf, cupcakes and granola bars. I am going back to my original recipe for granola bars and used the tips I found on this page. I will be using the tips on the granola as well which is a new recipe. I got the recipe from my blog-crush Orangette – who adapted it from Nigella Lawson. The goods should last me at least a week each, for example the meatloaf will be used for dinner one night and lunch 2 days. The granola and granola bars will last 2-4 weeks, and the cupcakes about the same because I will freeze half of the cakes.

I’m on my own again this weekend so grocery shopping is being broken up into multiple trips. Today I stopped and got 2 days of food and the necessary ingredients for the granola bars. When I know I will be eating alone I have some standard meals/foods that I pick up at the store. I make sure I have 2 servings of fruit/day- today that was 2 bananas because I have 2 beautiful grapefruits waiting for me. I also go to a store which carries very good pre-made salads or has a nice salad bar, I chose the salad bar option today. I made a large salad which will be split between today and tomorrow’s lunches. I make a mix of all the types of salad greens available, add vegetables/fruits of different colors, a combo of 2 proteins, and a sprinkle of sunflower seeds. I also grab a small baguette, a bottle of mineral water and some sort of sweet. Today I didn’t grab any sweets, because tonight I’m making spicy hot chocolate to have as a dessert. When I’m shopping for times like these, I take advantage of all the supplies in the house and make sure at least 1/2 my meals are using food I already had. Some times it is eggs for dinner, tonight it will be chili.

Todays salad: romaine, mixed spring greens, carrots, tomatoes, mandarin oranges, 1 hardboiled egg, 1oz chicken breast, 2T black olives, 1T marinated mushrooms, and 1T sunflower seeds. No dressing from the store – I simply top each serving with 1t olive oil, and a crush of salt and pepper.

Granola Bars


Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Butter an 8 by 12-inch baking dish and line it with parchment paper. Toss 2c oatmeal, 1/2c wheat germ and 1c slivered almonds together on a cookie sheet and bake for 10-12 minutes, stirring occasionally, until lightly browned. Transfer the mixture to a large mixing bowl. Reduce the oven temperature to 300 degrees. Place 3T butter, 2/3c honey, 1/4c brown sugar, 2t vanilla, and 1/4t salt in a small saucepan and bring to a boil over medium heat. Cook and stir for a minute, then pour over the toasted oatmeal mixture. Add 1t cinnamon, 1/4t ground ginger1c dried cranberries and 1c dried apricots quartered; stir well. Pour the mixture into the prepared pan. Wet your fingers and lightly press the mixture evenly into the pan. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes rotating halfway through cooking, until light golden brown. Cool for at least 2 to 3 hours before cutting into squares. Serve at room temperature. Makes 20 squares. Points Plus: 4

Leave a Reply

