dreaming of greatness


I am back after a short stint off the grid, having a nice breakfast (1/2c oatmeal, 1 banana, 1T slivered almonds, 1/2t cinnamon, 1pkt splenda) and some much-needed coffee. I am feeling a bit under the weather due to a combination of exhaustion and an impending cold/flu. Hopefully over the next few nights I can catch up on my sleep and keep this cold/flu to a minimum.

Classes are going well – this will be the first full week of school thanks to weeks of snow days. I am really enjoying the material in each of my classes and it is opening up new ideas of what I can do with my MS/RD (hint hint CSU…). All these new options are brewing and I want to do all of them! Not necessarily at the same time but at some point in my career. Here is my current list (in alphabetical order):

  • Author – books, articles, etc
  • Clinical RD
  • Cultivate an organic garden
  • Farming – C & I running a farm may not be practical, but I could certainly partner with a local farmer for educational stuff (lectures, etc)
  • Private Practice – preferably my own
  • Professor
  • U.S. Figure Skating Team
  • U.S. Olympic Team
  • Weight Watchers

I am aware there is a lot of stuff there, but I figure if I am going to spend the next 40+ years in the field, I might as well keep myself challenged otherwise we all know how quickly I will get bored…

Quiet next few days around here I have a project in the works to start Sunday/Monday. This will be along the lines of Julie/Julia with cooking our way through a cookbook but this will be a much nobler feat and entirely on Plan. Stay tuned!!

That’s all for now. If any one reading out there has a connection to any of my dream projects above or to CSU’s Nutrition Dept (Grad School), please let me know!! All dreams need a little help to succeed.

Leave a Reply

