Six weeks, 2 days…


Is all that separates me from my freedom. Or at least being done with my bachelors …
You know that first sensation of exhaustion you feel when you exercise? Maybe just over halfway through your run, when you are far enough from your destination that you know quitting won’t help. I’m there. The point when one solid night of sleep just isn’t enough to make up for that underlying level of exhaustion. When there aren’t enough pedicures or fancy dinners to make the stress subside. That sounds rather pessimistic, and if I was seriously contemplating quitting I would say you were right, but that just isn’t the case this time. In the past this is exactly the point when I would do my best to hide from the stress and exhaustion and expectations. But like I said, that was before. Now I’m embracing it and pushing forward. Trying to figure out how you manage so much with so little time.
If you hadn’t realized before this post, my life is a bit hectic- what with one month of college left, planning a move, finding jobs/housing, and planning a wedding and keeping on top of the jobs I already have. The apartment looks about what I imagine my mind looks like. Piles of clean folded laundry waiting to be put away, books and notes stacked throughout the apartment, coffee mugs which are almost always filled with coffee or tea, and I won’t lie, it’s not the cleanest it’s ever been.

That pang of exhaustion is certainly there, but I feel a bit of a second wind coming. I have gotten enough done with the wedding that I can take a ‘planning break’ for 4-6 weeks and focus on that final push for classes (2 big papers and 3 exams among the other assignments).

For some reason this morning I was craving a breakfast sandwich. So I scrambled up 3 eggs with a splash of milk (<2T) some salt and pepper until they were moist but cooked through. I toasted up two whole wheat english muffins and took out 2 slices of reduced fat cheese along with some mixed spring greens. The sandwich was a delicious compliment to my big glass of water and cup of coffee. (Points Plus: 6)

The eggs were moist and the cheese gooey and it made a delicious mess when I ate it. (the recipe makes 2 sandwiches, one for me and one for carver- he got a bit more of the eggs)

 

2 Comments on “Six weeks, 2 days…”

  1. Steve says:

    Hang in their Courtney! It’s all downhill from here. Your post reminds me of a quote from Thoreau: The life in us is like the water in a river. It may rise this year higher than we have ever known it, and flood the parched uplands; even this may be the eventful year, which will drown out all our muskrats.”

  2. Elise Phillips says:

    sounds like there is alot going on, but, I am so glad you stopped, made a great meal for yourself.

    Miss you.


Leave a Reply

