poached eggs for starters


As you all know by now I am a big fan of breakfasts. I had another delicious breakfast this morning, I planned it earlier this week and have been looking forward to it for as long.
I made a hodgepodge fruit salad to serve alongside toast with poached eggs. Poached eggs, when cooked to perfection, are possibly my favorite breakfast food. I remember getting strange looks from my friends growing up because I ate my eggs poached and not scrambled, but I’ve always been a fan. My ideal poached egg ‘layout’ is rye/pumpernickel toast with butter and raspberry jam topped with the egg which is still runny then topped with a bit of salt and pepper. YUM….
Pretty mellow rest of the day – some cleaning, a quick Target run, made a loaf of whole wheat bread, studying, wedding work, and some move brainstorming. By the end of the afternoon I found myself very stressed and anxious so I laid down for a quick nap and when I woke up we opened up a bottle of wine and cooked dinner together: an interesting mix of rigatoni, lentils, sausage, mushrooms and arugula. Carver just plopped down next to me on the couch with dessert (vanilla bean ice cream topped with a dab of Justin’s almond butter) and popped on Ratatouille.
Poached Eggs and Fruit Salad

Poached eggs are a perfect reason for using mise en place. The process goes quickly so it will serve you well to be organized and focused. I use Julia Child’s method of bringing a pot of water to a gentle boil with a splash of distilled vinegar. When the water reaches that gentle boil, I put the egg (shell and all) in the water for about 30-45 seconds and roll it around, then remove it. Next I make sure all my utensils and plates/dishes are set up. I have these great little fruit cups which perfectly hold 1-2 poached eggs. I crack the eggs, one at a time into the water and watch them like a hawk. For the runny consistency I like, cook time is about 2 1/2 minutes. I start toasting the bread when the water begins boiling. I made the fruit salad before I got my eggs/pan set up. I cut up 1 large banana, 1 mango, 1 grapefruit and 1 kiwi. I mixed the fruit up with the juice from the grapefruit to keep the banana from browning. I used a basic whole grain bread today with some smart balance light and peach jam. Points plus: 5 for 1/2 of the fruit salad, 1 slice of toast and 1 poached egg.

Sausage with Rigatoni

Saute 1/4c lentils in 1/2t olive oil over medium-high heat in a large skillet, cook for 7 minutes. Bring a large pot of water to a boil, meanwhile slice up 1c mushrooms. Cook 1/2 lb whole wheat rigatoni for 6-7 minutes over medium high heat. When lentils have finished cooking, remove from pan and place in a small bowl. Add a package of spicy turkey sausage to the skillet with 1t olive oil. Cook for 6-7 minutes, add in the mushrooms and lentils, stir to combine. Add in 1/4c vegetable stock and simmer for 5 minutes. Serve 1/4 of the pasta with 1/4 of the sausage mixture. I mixed in a handful of arugula with the sausage/pasta, for extra color and nutrients. Points Plus: 8 Serves 4.

Leave a Reply

