Cake (muffins) to remember


As you all know I love a good muffin. I made a new one last night. As per my usual I adapted it from another recipe. The original recipe is my dad’s favorite cake, but I don’t have the correct pan for it so I had to improvise. This isn’t a sweet batter, but it’s moist and delicious. These are a great no matter the occasion, whether it’s a meet in greet (what I made them for), or just your weekly breakfast. My future mother in law crumbled up the muffin and added it to her Greek yogurt which looked very good. Carvers favorite is just warm with a cup of coffee. These are very flexible and with the added applesauce and apples they yield 1/2 fruit serving per muffin. Also a bonus is the smell that permeates the kitchen and beyond. (My father says I shouldn’t have messed with the original recipe, but I think he would understand once he tasted one.)
Muffins to Remember

Preheat oven to 350. In a small skillet, toast 2c chopped walnuts for about 5 minutes, remove from heat and let cool. Chop 2 medium Granny Smith apples, should be 1″ cubes, set aside. In a large bowl cream 1 stick unsalted butter (room temperature) and 4 oz unsweetened applesauce. With mixer on medium speed, add in 2c granulated sugar and mix until combined. Scrape down sides and add in 2 eggs (room temperature), 3T egg whites and 2t vanilla extract; mix well. In a small bowl sift together 3c whole wheat flour, 1 1/2t baking soda, 1/2t salt, 1t cinnamon and 1/4t nutmeg. Slowly add dry ingredients to wet with mixer on low-speed; mix thoroughly. The batter will be very thick. Fold in walnuts and apples until combined. Spray muffin tins with non-stick spray or line with papers. Fill tins until two-thirds full. Bake for 35 minutes, rotating half-way through cooking time. Let the muffins cool in the pan for 10 minutes, remove and let finish cooling on a rack. Makes 18 muffins, 1 muffin per serving. Points Plus: 3. 

2 Comments on “Cake (muffins) to remember”

  1. […] few years I have adjusted this recipe from the original I was taught and the original one I posted here. This is where we are […]

  2. […] recipe from the original I was taught by my mother and my original attempt – the one I posted here. This is where we are […]


Leave a Reply

