like a duck on the pond


Have you ever seen The Replacements? It is one of my guilty pleasures and one of the few movies with Keanu Reeves that I will actually watch. Well there is a quote in the movie which always rings true with me. “Like a duck on the pond. On the surface everything looks calm, but beneath the water those little feet are churning a mile a minute.”

1001-1238030541VctK.jpg

As we speak (I type, you read) I am making a snack list and going through my linen closet for donations and there are boxes scattered around the apartment. I should point out that not a single item has been placed in the boxes, but we have sorted paperwork and clothing and the fridge is looking fairly empty. We are slated to hit the road first thing Tuesday morning. Yes, this Tuesday. Yes that is two days from now and I did say that no boxes are packed. So as usual there is a bit much going on around here. But some things have changed since last I wrote. The biggest change was finishing my degree – they surprised even me by letting me graduate. It still hasn’t sunk in. None of it really has. I’ve started to say some goodbyes and have stopped working, but I don’t believe this is the end – it’s this strange limbo.

Now Carver and I get to start the next phase of our adventure. Degree in hand we will be taking a road trip then setting up home in Arizona. To prepare for the road trip I have started working on our food plan. The goal is to pack items that are road friendly (easy to eat with one hand, not messy, can be room temperature) and are healthy. The current list is : granola bars, grapes, bananas, popped popcorn, diet sodas, waters, muffins, and sandwiches: bread, lettuce leaves, tomato slices, deli meat, condiments, cheese. I will also bring some yogurt because they will go well with the muffins/trail mix and have a good mix of fat/protein/fiber. We will also need some sort of treat because we both have a sweet tooth, or two, and it could get very dangerous on the road for hours on end without dessert.

For now it’s off to bed. We need to store up some energy for the days ahead and recover from the last few days.

Leave a Reply

