a recipe for Kiley


I am sorry to report it is still hot here… Though the bubbly meteorologist assured me that the slight breeze would make the 106 temperature feel like 100. I think she lied. When I took Merlin for his walk at 7 this morning it was over 80 degrees – 95 by the time Carver got home from his bike ride. He had quite the workout this morning and not enough food to support his exercise so when he came home I whipped up a batch of the Buttermilk Berry Pancakes. We followed our normal AM routine: news then last night’s Jimmy Fallon. Then he took a well-deserved nap and when he woke up it was time for lunch… Funny how that works. Since I wasn’t feeling very creative I went with my old standby – good volume of food and intense flavor. And ONE PAN. This recipe easily doubles and triples. Also, 3 medium tomatoes seems like a lot but it will give you a larger serving without eating too much pasta.

The Simplest Pasta Recipe I Know… Serves 2

  • 4 ounces uncooked linguine or other long pasta
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon butter
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 medium tomatoes, diced
  • 3 tablespoons chopped basil (about a palm-full of leaves)
  • 3 tablespoons parmesan, freshly grated
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • Chili pepper flakes, to taste

Cook linguine according to package directions. While pasta cooks dice tomatoes, chop basil and grate parmesan; set aside. Drain pasta and reserve 1/2 cup of cooking liquid.  Return pan to stove and spray with non-stick spray, add butter and oil until combined. Cook garlic in butter-oil for about one minute until garlic turns golden brown, then add it 3/4 of basil and 3/4 of tomatoes. Stir to combine and cook for about 3 minutes. Return linguine to pan and toss to combine adding in 1 1/2 tablespoons of parmesan and salt, pepper and chilies. Stir well and add cooking liquid if sauce is too dry. Split portions between two bowls and top each with 1/2 of remaining parmesan, tomatoes and basil. 8 Points Plus per serving.

More fun wedding things going on around here. I will share some of my favorite inspiration photos 🙂

Love this spread!

Yes, that is a cookie buffet

Love the burlap napkins!

3 Comments on “a recipe for Kiley”

  1. Ahhhhh!! I love the recipe… but I LOVE the weeding inspiration photos!!!!!!!! Totally jealous btw 😉

  2. Wedding, rather. I am literate, I swear. It’s the excitement typing here!


Leave a Reply

