Chilaquiles Rojo


Another fabulous request from Juan – this dish was so yummy! It will certainly pop up again in my repertoire.

 

I asked around for a recipe for these mainly because I didn’t want to just search the internet and risk getting a reference recipe I didn’t trust. I did not follow the recipe I was given to a T for many reasons, but I think it turned out well just the same. If the recipe seems daunting don’t let it frighten you. It is similar to making lasagna,  lots of easy little steps but worth the effort.

Chilaqiules Rojo

  • 10 flour tortillas, cut into triangles
  • 1 cups water
  • 3 large tomatoes, diced
  • 3 Serrano chilies, diced
  • 2 Jalapeno chilies, seeded and diced
  • 1 medium yellow onion, diced
  • 3 small sweet peppers, seeded and diced
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 1 pound chorizo, casing removed
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/3 cup cilantro, chopped
  • ½ cup shredded cheese
  • Guacamole and Sour cream for serving

Preheat oven to 350. Prepare a glass baking dish (I used an 8×13) with aluminum foil and non-stick spray.

In a non-stick skillet brown the tortilla triangles until slightly dry and light gold in color. Set aside. I did this in batches and let them sit while I prepared the rest of the recipe. You want them a little dry so they will absorb all the juices so let them sit!

In a large skillet brown the chorizo this will take about 5 minutes. I coated the pan with non-stick spray and this worked fine – if you’d like you can add 1 teaspoon vegetable oil to the pan as well but the fat content in the chorizo will eliminate the need for extra oil. You don’t need to cook this all the way through, as it will finish cooking in the oven. Once it is golden brown remove from the pan and set aside, preferably in a large mixing bowl.

In the same skillet sauté the onion and garlic until translucent. Then add the chilies, peppers, and tomatoes. Cook these until warmed through – about 5 minutes. Season with salt and pepper and add water, simmer about 5 minutes. (At this point it was recommended that I blend the vegetables to make a purée, but I honestly couldn’t be bothered and I loved the texture and color so I abstained. By all means though blend away if you feel so inclined.) Add vegetable mix to the chorizo and mix well to combine. Add in ½ of the cilantro and mix again.

Now comes the fun part – Assembling your dinner!! Remember my earlier comment that this was like lasagna?? Well it really is. I layered mine this way: pan – tortilla triangles – meat/veggie – tortilla triangles – meat/veggie – cheese/cilantro.

Bake at 350 for 30 minutes until the cheese is golden brown and bubbly. Let sit for 5-10 minutes before cutting and serving. This will yield 8 healthy portions, though we had seconds so don’t count on leftovers. 9 points plus per serving.

     

Leave a Reply

