oh Columbus


There’s something about October. What’s not to love?? Football- college for me, NFL for Carver; Halloween, the onset of fall, sweater-weather… Historically October has been a very good month for Carver and I. We met in October, baseball playoffs are in October, did I mention the sweaters?? October is when my cardigan collection gets to come out – granted I find ways to sneak in sweaters year round, but in October I don’t look out-of-place. October is also a time to breakout the soups and stews, oddly enough these are also things I cling to year round. When Carver and I started dating it was clear my cooking and eating habits would need to change. I had spent 20-odd years not eating beans or chili, among other things. I have yet to meet a man who doesn’t like, if not love, these items so for Carver I jumped right in (well truth be told it was at least 8 months before I was on board with the dietary changes). In the years since then I have made chili many times; some successes and some failures. The first chili I made for him was based on a ‘recipe’ from Donna and it turned out great. Others along the way were so-so, but they got eaten so they weren’t horrible. Yesterday I got that feeling in the pit of my stomach that feeling that can only be squashed with something warm and comforting. Something so warm it comforts your soul. I went to the store and wandered around like a degenerate and aimlessly grabbed a two-pound bag of crisp baby apples and three sweet yellow peaches among other items. My goal was to bring the apples to my office so I could have them at my beck and call and make a peach crumble with homemade molasses cookies. The apples were a complete success – I had one already today. And the peaches – well they have had a day to ripen more and I have gained a day to get the necessary ingredients. That’s the thing about cooking in someone else’s kitchen. All these ingredients I assume I have because they are staples for me, that most people don’t have on hand. Unsulphered molasses…  So stay tuned for cookies and peaches. For now you get chili. Are you sitting down?? I made BEEF chili, not chicken or turkey. Yes that’s right, I decided to treat my taste-testers with some saturated fat. That’s true love.

Beef Chili

  • 1 pound ground beef, 97% lean
  • 1 medium bell pepper, seeded and diced
  • 2 jalapeños, seeded and diced
  • 28 ounces unsalted, diced tomatoes
  • 1 can low-sodium kidney beans, rinsed and drained
  • ½ medium red onion, diced
  • ½ chili seasoning packet
  • ¾ cup low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 teaspoon vegetable oil

Spray a large skillet with non-stick spray and heat over medium-high heat. Brown beef and break up in to bite-sized uniform pieces. Once cooked through add ½ cup broth and seasoning packet and stir to combine. Bring to a boil and let cook for 2 minutes; remove from heat. Spray bowl of slow cooker with non-stick spray. Transfer beef and sauce to slow cooker and turn on to hot and set for 3 hours. Return the skillet to the stove and add 1 teaspoon vegetable oil. Then add in peppers and onion and cook over medium-high heat until onions are translucent and peppers are tender, about 5-7 minutes. Add remaining ¼ cup broth and scrape brown bits from skillet with a spoon or spatula. Add vegetables and broth to slow cooker and stir. Add tomatoes and beans to slow cooker and stir again; make sure all ingredients are well combined. If you are home and able to I give this a quick stir every hour, but you don’t have to do this.

This will yield 6 servings. It makes a great dinner when paired with a mixed green salad and slice of jalapeño cheddar cornbread. Or lunch with some cheddar goldfish. yumm

One Comment on “oh Columbus”

  1. ladyflash says:

    Nah, you wouldn’t look out of place with a sweater draped over your bag in the middle of summer in Phoenix…everyone knows they blast the A/C indoors 😀

    I love chili. I tried one with cherries & huge chipotle chilis, and it had just the right amount of warmth and spice.


Leave a Reply

