Refrigerator Clean-out + Dinner


Last night when I got home I knew two things – I was hungry and there was a sausage link in my refrigerator. When I hit the store this weekend I was a bit distracted and was not as successful/efficient as I typically am. I did however remember lingering at the meat counter staring at the freshly made sausages. I think what I got was a traditional chicken sausage with Italian seasoning – even after eating it the only thing I can tell you is that it browned nicely and there was fennel seed in it. (Apparently I was still distracted last night.) Anyways as I was thinking about what to make with this sausage I decided to just grab whatever I could get my hands on. Last night that included: low-sodium bacon, spinach, carrots, tomatoes and rotini. My thought was no one would notice the excessive veggies if I nestled them in with crispy bacon and sausage. You know what? My plan worked! I managed to clean out the remaing dry pasta, half the tomatoes, 1/4 of the carrots and 1/2 of the spinach. Not too shabby. Now for the downside. It got eaten so quickly and I only made enough to serve 3 people one serving so there is no photographic proof of this meal. Luckily I remember what I did and I will now have it written down so I can recreate it for my family and *hopefully* get a photo or two out of it.

Sausage & Bacon Pasta

1/2 pounds whole wheat pasta, uncooked

5 slices low-sodium bacon, raw

1 1/2 cups chopped carrots

1 cup cherry tomatoes, quartered

1/2 pound raw turkey sausage, casing removed

1 cup spinach, raw

In a medium sauce pan cook pasta in salted water according to package instruction. During this time also crisp up the bacon – you can either do this in the oven at 425 for 12-15 minutes or in the microwave or in a frying pan (I usually go for the oven).

In a large skillet over medium-high heat, spray nonstick spray and crumble the sausage cooking until nicely brown. Remove sausage from the pan and add in your carrots and tomatoes. For the carrots, I used baby carrots that I halved lenght-wise but anything you have that you can make bite-sized will work. You need your veggies to get nice and tender so they will need to cook for about 10 minutes. After 6-7 minutes I added in the sausage to make sure it was cooked through.

Assembly time! Crumble your bacon and drain your pasta (if you haven’t already). In a large serving bowl add all ingredients: raw spinach, veggie/sausage mix, pasta and bacon. Mix well to combine. Mine looked a little dry for my taste so I drizzled with just under 1 tablespoon of olive oil. You may not need to do this, I just happen to live/cook in a very dry environment. Toss again and season to taste with salt and pepper.

Yields 3 generous servings. 10 points plus per bowl.

4 Comments on “Refrigerator Clean-out + Dinner”

  1. […] = '';} } Gluten Free Friday: Sausage PancakesRefrigerator Clean-out + Dinner body{background-image:none;} #nav { height: 24px;} #content { background: #fff; border-top-color: […]

  2. Scott Sprich says:

    I like this one. It’s kinda like my pasta and turkey sausage recipe. So easy to make these dishes and they taste awesome. I might have to try some spinach in there. Sounds like a good compliment.


Leave a Reply

