love at first bite


Years ago I started watching Barefoot Contessa religiously. It took a few months for her to really grow on me. But then I realized her recipes were well-written and her flavors impeccable. What I really loved was how much love she put in to everything. I love to watch her with her friends and with her husband. It was so refreshing to see those interactions, and you get the sense that she is that way on and off camera which is nice. Anyways when I met Carver I was deep in the Barefoot Contessa world and saw that when she and her husband were dating she would send him treats (brownies). Well that, I thought, was genius! So I started sending Carver treats. His favorite by far were my cranberry orange muffins. I’m not certain why those were the ones that won him over considering I sent homemade truffles with that shipment but those were his favorite. I think these really went a long way in getting him on board for the whole marriage thing – so thanks, Ina!

I made these muffins recently and was reminded again how delicious these are.

Cranberry Orange Muffins

  • 4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/4 cup sugar
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup butter, at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup applesauce, unsweetened
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • zest and juice of 1 large orange
  • 1/2 cup sour cream, light
  • 12 ounces frozen cranberries
  • 2/3 cup walnuts, chopped

Preheat oven to 375. Line muffin tin with papers and spray with nonstick spray; set aside. In a large bowl combine flour, salt, sugar, and baking powder. In a small bowl combine wet ingredients until just mixed. Add wet ingredients into dry and stir just until incorporated. Fold in cranberries and walnuts. Fill muffin cups 2/3 full.

Bake for 20 minutes and rotate pan halfway through cook time. Let muffins cool 5 minutes in pan before removing to rack to cool completely. This recipe yields 24 muffins, and each muffin in 5 points plus.

20111026-202226.jpg

Leave a Reply

