Shrimp Bruschetta


A few weeks ago I was watching Julie & Julia. It should come as no surprise that I really enjoy that movie. Anyways, in the beginning when Julie is discussing potential blog topics with her husband they are eating bruschetta for dinner. That sparked my interest. Carver and I really enjoy simple finger foods that require little prep and equal effort cleaning up. That lead us to shrimp bruschetta, made entirely from ingredients hanging around the house. The bread was the leftovers from that week’s homemade loaf- no knead whole wheat. I always have a bag of frozen shrimp on hand. I buy the ones Trader Joes carries because they don’t have any additives and they are a good size. The other ingredients: olive oil, canned diced tomatoes, shallots, dried basil and thyme.
In a large sautĂ© pan I cooked up the shallots in oil and salt & pepper until translucent. Then I added in a 14.5 ounce can of tomatoes, a pinch each of basil and thyme. I let the tomatoes simmer for about 15 minutes. Then I added in the shrimp which I had defrosted and cut in to 1 1/2″ pieces. Once the shrimp hit the sauce you will cook for about 5-7 minutes over medium heat. You want pink shrimp, tender but not rubbery. While the sauce simmered away Carver browned up the bread in a bit of butter on each side until golden and crisp. Then all you do is assemble. Easy, fun and balanced.

20111224-133819.jpg

Leave a Reply

